Ch-ch-ch-changes…

I used to think I was pretty good at handling changes…welcoming of new adventures…a seeker of the unfamiliar.  But, in four short months, my world will turn upside down and I seem to be struggling with that fact. 

Yes, I grew up outside of Seattle, went to school in Tacoma and lived in Pittsburgh for five years.  But the past six+ years of living in Montana has allowed me to grow accustomed to a slower-paced life (despite the hardship of winters that last darned-near forever).  So when our family relocates to the San Francisco Bay area at the end of the year, I will have some adjusting to do.  Not only for me, but for the sake of our kids.

Add to a BIG move…I will return to school within the next year, studying Women’s Studies and potentially Anthropology–researching present-day women during pregnancy, childbirth and motherhood.  I will use these studies to further my writing and public speaking career.  I will work my ass off to accomplish this goal.

‘Cause here’s the thing: amidst the preparations for a big family move, applications to graduate school, and transitioning my little childbirth education business–I’m still a mom.  I still have peanut butter and jelly sandwiches to make, laundry to tend to and errands to run.

Our daughter started first grade yesterday, so the school year busy-busy routine is back upon us.  Our boys will start their preschool year next week.  Dance class begins soon after that, along with church kids’ choir.

So, in tandem with packing school lunches and carting kids all over town (tarnation?) I will be packing boxes, calling moving companies, searching California rental properties and preparing our own home for the open market.

Anyone want to rent or buy a house?

And now, in honor of my family’s up-coming changes…a little blast from the past…

5 Comments

Filed under Kids, Living, Mommy and Motherhood, Writing and Publishing

5 responses to “Ch-ch-ch-changes…

  1. Shelly

    Wow..big changes. Are you moving to go to school or was your husband transferred? We turned down a move because we just can’t sell our house in this market.

  2. Pingback: A Different Sort of Change « Writing My Way Through Motherhood and Beyond

  3. Wow, you DO have some big changes coming up! Congratulations on the opportunity to grow 🙂

  4. Jennifer

    I had heard about this big move but didn’t want to say anything until you formally anounced it. Congraulations! We hope and pray that everything will work out for you all and that your house will sell quickly. Believe me, they can sell! The best of luck and keep me posted on everything.

  5. Pingback: A Constellation of Thoughts « Writing My Way Through Motherhood and Beyond

Leave a Reply

