Writer’s Conference…Here I Come!

In two weeks time, I will head down to Tempe, Arizona for the Arizona State University’s Piper Center for Creative Writing Desert Nights, Rising Stars writer’s conference.  It will be the first writer’s conference I have attended (having attended several medical conferences in the past) and I am TERRIBLY excited.

Not only will I have the opportunity to attend many workshops and lectures about the art and craft of writing, but I will participate in a writer’s critique workshop with five other writers as well as participate in my first ever literary agent pitch session.

Yep, that’s right.  My new manuscript is polished up, spit-shined and ready to hit the road with me.  (If you’re interested, you can read the first chapter of  A Heroic Survival, An Abysmal Truth:  The Story of Dallon Whittaker here.)

As I prepare to rub elbows with other writers, try my hand at pitching my book in the most professional of ways and learn, learn, learn about the craft I have come to live for (outside of raising my kids which always comes first) I am ecstatic about the opportunity this up-coming trip represents (and looking forward to the warm weather that is SO different than winter in Montana this time of year)!

Wish me luck…

1 Comment

Filed under Writing and Publishing

One response to “Writer’s Conference…Here I Come!

  1. Good luck! And have an amazing time!

Leave a Reply

