Six Years Ago Today

Six years ago today, I adopted an entirely new persona.
Six years ago today, I relinquished a life of selfishness
and dove straight into a life of unending devotion.
Six years ago yesterday, I didn’t really know what unconditional love
was all about.
Six years ago today, I learned how to love like I never had done before.
Six years ago today, I began to understand the world around me
in a frighteningly new light. Dangers that had never before existed in my world
jumped out at me from dark corners and plain-as-day scenes and situations.
Six years ago today. I opted into a role of servitude, confusion, bliss, heartbreak, heartswell, insanity, hilarity and more than anything…growth.
Six years ago today, I began to know my own mother in an entirely new light.
Six years ago today I found in myself a new sense of strength, a new sense of resiliency, and a new sense of persistence.
Six years ago today, I became a mother.

Happy Birthday, Ellie.  I love you.

1 Comment

Filed under Childbirth Issues, family, From One Mother to Another, Kids

One response to “Six Years Ago Today

Leave a Reply

