Motherhood: Celebrating Our Bodies

While preparing for last night’s childbirth preparation class, I came across this lovely poem which I chose to share with my students.  Now, I would like to share it with all of you…

The Shape of a Mother

My belly may or make not shrink. I am at peace with that.
36-inches around and I have never felt more beautiful.
A number cannot define me, I will not give it that power.
Body, mind and soul I am balanced and I am healthy,
– waist size notwithstanding.
This body brought forth life.
What greater beauty is there then that?

I am the vessel from which life poured.
I am a mother.

These stretch marks will always be with me.
Commercials may tell me to laser them off,
– but I love them all.
My son has changed my soul forever, for the better.
My body too is changed forever, for the better.
These marks are my tattoo of motherhood.

I have crossed a threshold.
I am a mother.

My hips are bigger, my old jeans don’t fit.
These hips birthed my son, they are beautiful.

My breasts are bigger, they soak my shirts.
These breasts nourish my son, they are beautiful.

My heart and my soul are bigger, my emotions overflow.
This heart and this soul love my son, they are beautiful.

I am a mother.
I am strong.
I am beautiful.

I am a mother.

~ by Jaspenelle Stewart

For more beautiful poetry and thoughts on parenthood, visit this poet and mother’s blog site.

2 Comments

Filed under From One Mother to Another, Mommy and Motherhood, pregnancy, Writing and Publishing

2 responses to “Motherhood: Celebrating Our Bodies

  1. Wow, I am so flattered you shared my work with your class. Thank you!

  2. Jaspenelle,

    Thank YOU for sharing this lovely poem. In our rediculously vain culture, it is so hard for women to feel proud of the postpartum form their bodies take. Rather than viewing stretch marks, widened hips and gravity-drawn breasts as medals of motherhood, so many view these changes as characteristics to hide or…better yet…do away with all together via plastic surgery! As your poem so aptly states, we would be without these physical changes were it not for our children. In the end, it’s not such a bad trade off, now is it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

