When Our Kids Talk…

A friend of mine does a fabulous job of recording the silly things her three girls say, and the engaging (and sometimes maddening) scenarios that occur in a household of three kids under seven.

Not only does my friend record these priceless words and events, but each year she collects a sampling of the girls’ quotes and includes them on the back of their Christmas card!

This year, when I received their card, I asked her to forward the document to me where she records her family’s verbal tidbits.  I wanted to (with her permission) share some of them with you.  This is a WONDERFUL example of why every parent should keep a running list of the funny things their children say and do.  It’s too hard to remember them in a sleepless, fatigued mommy or daddy brain without writing them down.

Enjoy the following quotes, and consider starting your own list of funny sayings!

Merry Christmas…

July 28, 2004
Mom: Grace, don’t pick your nose while your finger nail polish is still wet.
August 3, 2004
Gabby: I need to go potty! I need my helmet!
Mom: You need to wear your helmet to go potty?Gabby: Yeah!
August 10, 2004
Mom: Gabby, don’t flush the toilet with your mouth!
October 25, 2004 (a big morning for quotes)
Gabby after Mom checks her unders: No, I’m not poopy. I’m Gabby.
November 8, 2004
Frustrated Mom to Gabby who isn’t cooperating in putting on her pajamas: Gabby, these are they ladybug pajamas that you chose for tonight.
Equally frustrated Gabby: I want to choose to change my mind!!
November 12, 2004
Mom to Gabby after she suspiciously smells my homemade dinner: Does it smell nice?
Gabby to Mom: It’s not nice. It could be dangerous.
December 15, 2004
Grace: I’m wearing puppets on my feet so I don’t get wet when I step in Gabby’s pee puddle.
February 26, 2005Mom to Grace who has worn new eyeglasses for a few hours: How do your glasses feel?
Grace considers carefully before answering: Like bananas covered in cheese.
August 28, 2005
Gabby from the bathroom: Come help! I can’t wipe because I’m holding a big Popsicle!
November 30:
Mom trying to regain some level of authority with Genavieve: Who’s the Mommy here?
Genavieve: Dada’s the Mama!
December 10, 2007
Genavieve: I go to doctor again. I stuck another bead up nose.
December 14, 2007
Grace, surprised that the chicken we are eating tastes good: Now I know why kids aren’t allowed to complain about their dinner. Because every once in a while it’s actually delicious!
December 14, 2007
Grace, happily looking into each box of a Harry & David chocolate tower of treats: This gift is nothing but junk, junk, and more junk!! Three cheers for junk!!!
May 12, 2008
Mom to Genavieve: Please don’t put bananas in my belly button while I’m doing yoga.
May 14, 2008
Gabby: I can’t go to sleep. My bed isn’t the right amount of bouncy tonight.
July 10, 2008
Genavieve, hoping for another dose of medicine: I just have one more headache.
July 29, 2008
Grace: I was up early this morning. I think the angels really did wake me with the morning light!
July 29, 2008
Grace: I can’t go to sleep yet. I think my tongue has some more words left on it.
August 2, 2008
Mom: Genavieve! Do NOT throw a fit on the floor of this port-a-potty!
August 4, 2008Genavieve: Grace, (can) I have a piece of paper?Grace: What’s the magic word?
Genavieve, pleased that she knows the answer: Abracadabra!!
August 18, 2008Dad to Genavieve: You need to get out of my office now because I need to work.
Genavieve: Can I be worky, too?
August 31, 2008
Genavieve, protesting her bath: I’m allergic to hot water!
December 3, 2008Grace: Why are you wearing that hat?Mom: I’m having a really bad hair day.
Grace: I think you are having a bad hat day by wearing it.
December 4, 2008
Genavieve, learning about life from a Charlie Brown cartoon: Mom! Guess how you die. When somebody runs over you, you just stick your tongue out and that’s how you die!
December 23, 2008Mom: Girls, how do you want me to do your hair tomorrow?
Genavieve answering immediately: Like a turtle.

3 Comments

Filed under family, Kids, Living

3 responses to “When Our Kids Talk…

  1. Linda Leslie

    Oh What a timely treat! A kleenex-message for sure – I was laughing so hard!! We too have been keeping a running journal, but we’re not so old as to have running dialogue yet! GREAT idea, and I’m sure we will do the same in the coming celebrations of family and life! As ever, thank you Kimmelin for all you do! Merry Christmas!!

  2. Linda,

    It’s great to hear from you! How was your first Christmas with baby? It’s always such a special time! Wait…is this your SECOND Christmas as parents? Now I’m forgetting how old he is….oh, how time flies…

  3. Pingback: Steady Statues, Nipples & Sharks « Writing My Way Through Motherhood and Beyond

Leave a Reply

