Congratulations, Sir. You Knocked It Out of the Park.

I taught a childbirth education class tonight.  In between discussing signs and symptoms of early labor and how to time uterine contractions, I pulled up the election results for the class, so we could remain informed of the progress of the presidential election vote counting.  By 9:30 tonight, we discovered the news:  our country had spoken.  We have, as a collective people, overwhelmingly voted in the first African American individual to the position of President-Elect of the United States.  338 to 141, baby.  Even as I taught eight expectant parents about the ins and outs of childbirth, our nation was birthing an extraordinary element of change that will forever mark the pages of history.

I couldn’t be more pleased.

Racing home, driving head-on into a rapidly building snow storm, I listened to Obama’s first address to the country as the President Elect…hoping to reach my living room before the end of his speech.  I promised myself I would remember that drive and the sound of Obama’s words flowing from the car radio as well as I remember where I was and what I was doing on 9/11.  And upon arriving home, this is the scene I caught on the television:

Congratulations, Senator Obama, to you and your family.  God bless and keep you.

3 Comments

Filed under Living, politics

3 responses to “Congratulations, Sir. You Knocked It Out of the Park.

  1. Cheryl Peterson

    Finally no more campaign promises! Actions will define the man. I am pleased am hopeful yet I know what will happen if he fails to bring on the change. God help us if he dosen’t deliver….

  2. Cheryl Peterson

    And a quick comment on Michelle’s dress… Girl, what were you thinking!

  3. I still feel moved by that speech. I am very excited about the next four years.

Leave a Reply

