Whirlwind Fun

Oh, my gosh.

My trip to San Diego is only half way over, and I’m already exhausted!  Not even close to maintaining the schedule of a politician or celebrity promoting a new film, I am feeling tuckered from the late night events and go-go-go day time schedule.

Since making the successful drive to and drop-off-of-kids at my parents’ house, I’ve hit SD with a bang:

Thursday morning, after a kick butt hour long rung with my dear friend Tera. (I haven’t run for one consecutive hour for…um…years?  Unless, of course, I included running after children, and through daily routines.  But that is another story.)  Then I attended a Stroller Strides workout with about 10 other women–all pushing children in strollers, ranging in age from 4mo’s – 6 years old.  We chatted.  We did squats.  We Hoola-Hooped.  We laughed.  We did push-ups and stair climbs.  We chatted some more.  At the end of the workout we sat around a primary colors parachute (where we had been drilled through a variety of crunches, plank poses, etc.) and talked about the joys and challenges of motherhood.  Children milled around us.  Moms gave each other encouragement and understanding smiles.  And I told them about my book.

Thursday night, I met with an incredibly lovely group of women for a book club gathering, from the Mama Fest Book Club Donation I sent down here in May.  All mothers themselves, these women had insightful questions regarding the process of writing A Dozen Invisible Pieces , questions about how my children are doing now in comparison to what was happening in their lives at the time the book was written (actually, they’re doing quite fine, I’m happy to say) and about how much the book resonated with them.  And that’s all I can really ask for.

Thursday afternoon and yesterday I visited several book stores, baby stores, and mommy stores in the greater northern San Diego County area.  I promoted my book.  Gave out free copies.  Dropped sell sheets and hoped store owners would see enough value in my little ol’ story to order a few copies in for their customers.  Oh, and Andrew bought a couple gifts for our kids who are now starting to wonder if we’ve forgotten to return for them, even though we call twice a day.

Last night.  Last night was incredible, indescribable and phenomenal.  Our dear friends Tera and Brett through us one hell of a party.  We transformed their home and pool-side back yard into an Aisian wonderland.  With tables adorned with orchids, platters presenting chicken stay, California rolls, and coconut shrimp, and Martini glasses filled with the best tasting Leche Fruit Martinis under the sun, we celebrated the release of my book with 50 of their friends.  There was much laughter, joy, drink and song to be had by all.

My head hit the pillow at 1:12 this morning and by 1:13 I was fast asleep.

Tonight, we will take in a b-ball game between the Padres and my old home-town team, the Seattle Mariners.  Tomorrow morning:  my big lecture/book reading and signing event at Indigo Village.

Pictures will follow.  Stay tuned.

4 Comments

Filed under Writing and Publishing

4 responses to “Whirlwind Fun

  1. Congratulations on your book!

  2. herbigidea

    Sounds like you had a blast in San Diego! I can’t wait for our interview on my Internet Radio Show on Wednesday. Here’s a link to the post on my blog about your upcoming interview: http://herbigidea.com/2008/06/30/show-014-interview-with-a-dozen-invisible-pieces-author-kimmelin-hull/

  3. jlhs

    I am so glad to hear that you are having so much fun and success in CA. Plus, the break from the kids will make you an even better parent when your return. Congrats!

  4. Thanks, Thank You and Thanks a bunch to ya’ll! Make sure you check out the interview with Elaine. (See 07/07 post).

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

