What Are People Saying?

Ok. So it’s only been a couple weeks since A Dozen Invisible Pieces was officially released. (18 days, 2.75 hours, to be exact. Not that I’m counting.) With the supply chain circuit what it is, in the self-publishing industry, it has only been a short number of days since people have actually begun receiving and therefore reading my book. But I can’t help but to share with you some of the comments I have begun to receive from my early readers. Oh – and before I share, please let me explain the following:

I am not trying to toot my own horn…or any other musical instrument, for that matter. (I did, after all, only take two years of piano lessons from about the 4th to 6th grades, and wasn’t terribly accomplished in that particular endeavor.) But, as I continue receiving feedback, I am beginning to see that this book is doing exactly what it was meant to do. It is opening an honest, hearftelt dialogue amongst parents–mostly mothers–about the true trials, tribulations, comedy and joy that accompanies motherhood. It is encouraging women who struggle with their response to Motherhood, to feel ok about their internal conflict–and to mostly feel accompanied. It is allowing mothers of all different ages, socio-economic groups, geographic locations and working or non-working status, to experience that common thread that our socitey has a way of severing. And it is offering hope. Hope that, despite the particular challenges that Motherhood presents, there is a beautiful light shining underneath it all. A light that has the potential to grow brighter as time passes.

So, to all of you out there who have already devoured A Dozen Invisible Pieces, and offered your kind words of thanks or encouragement…I offer it right back at you: Thank you. Thanks for letting me know the book is achieveing exactly what it is meant to achieve. A sense of community.

So, onto the comments:

You are a terrific writer with a very touching story to tell. I loved it! I felt like I was reading your diary but also being comforted by a good friend who’s going through the same things I am. I really admire your strength!

I read Kimmelin’s whole book one day by the pool and I really enjoyed it. It made me laugh, but more importantly, it made me feel that is really is ok to make mistakes and have challenges and frustrations as a mom. Her honesty helped me see that whether you spend 18 hours or 4 hours with your kids a day, you never feel like it is enough or that you can’t do better, even when you are completely overwhelmed!

In PIECES, Kimmelin Hull becomes an instant friend on the page. Her candor about her own experience as a mother raising three children under the age of four; her feelings about motherhood, about giving up a career to stay at home, then starting up a new business; about the joys (and occasional indignities) of being a mom; societal expectations of and assumptions about women; marital and mental health issues; and more all combine to create a great read, which provokes lots of laughs along the way. After reading [A Dozen Invisible Pieces], I took to my new role with more confidence, knowing that the unpredictable is the norm and that motherhood is, indeed, the toughest, and the most rewarding, job in the world.
Kimmelin’s lyrical writing style is captivating. I could not put her book down. From the first sentence to the last, I felt a connection like none other. “The Red Tent” has been my favorite book for many of years, one which I go back and frequently read. After reading Kimmelin Hulls’ “A Dozen Invisible Pieces and Other Confessions of Motherhood” it has replaced “The Red Tent” and is [now] my favorite book ever!

Leave a comment

Filed under From One Mother to Another, Writing and Publishing

Leave a Reply

